- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- Is it a scratch if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
- What ball goes on the dot in pool?
- What happens if the white ball goes in in pool?
- Can you put the white ball anywhere in pool?
- What happens when you put the cue ball in pool?
- Can you move the white ball after a foul in pool?
- What happens if you put the black ball in pool on the break?
- Is not hitting a ball in Pool A scratch?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- When can you move the cue ball in pool?
- Does a ball have to hit the cushion in pool?
- What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
- Does the break count in pool?
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot.
The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow)..
Is it a scratch if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
What ball goes on the dot in pool?
Line the apex (the first ball) up with the middle diamond on the side of the pool table. The center of the first ball should be in the middle of the table at one quarter of the length. Some tables have this spot marked with a small dot. Make sure that the balls are tightly packed together.
What happens if the white ball goes in in pool?
When the Cue Ball, that is, the white ball is pocketed, generally inadvertently, it is called a “scratch” or “table scratch” and is considered a foul.
Can you put the white ball anywhere in pool?
The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.
What happens when you put the cue ball in pool?
When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot. If the non-shooting player distracts his opponent or interferes with his play, he has fouled.
Can you move the white ball after a foul in pool?
PENALTY FOLLOWING ANY FOUL If the cue ball has come to rest on the playing surface, then the player having two visits may proceed to play from where the cue ball lies, or the cue ball may be played from any position on or behind the baulk line. Moving the cue ball in this manner does not count as a shot, or visit.
What happens if you put the black ball in pool on the break?
If the black is potted, the game is restarted with a re-rack , broken by the original breaker. If the cue ball is potted on an otherwise fair break, it is a “non-standard” fault (foul) that simply ends the breaker’s turn, with no further penalties. … If no balls were potted on the break, the table remains open.
Is not hitting a ball in Pool A scratch?
3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
When can you move the cue ball in pool?
Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: If you are the one breaking at the beginning of the game, you can pick up the cue (white) ball and place it anywhere inside the “kitchen” (pictured below) prior to your break shot.
Does a ball have to hit the cushion in pool?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
Does the break count in pool?
The player who breaks must strike the rack with the cue ball. Otherwise, the break becomes illegal and the turn switches to the opponent. Any balls pocketed on the break remain pocketed. If during a break the player pockets a ball, other than the 8-ball or cue ball, the same turn continues.