- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- When can you move the cue ball in pool?
- Do pool balls get old?
- What happens if the white ball goes in with the 8 ball?
- Can you hit 8 ball in another ball?
- Do you have to hit your own ball first in 8 ball?
- Can you use opponent’s ball in pool?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit any balls?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
- Is it illegal to jump a ball in pool?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- Do you lose if you hit the cue ball in after the 8 ball?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- What does behind the eight ball mean?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot.
If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball..
When can you move the cue ball in pool?
Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: If you are the one breaking at the beginning of the game, you can pick up the cue (white) ball and place it anywhere inside the “kitchen” (pictured below) prior to your break shot.
Do pool balls get old?
after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
What happens if the white ball goes in with the 8 ball?
If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost.
Can you hit 8 ball in another ball?
Combination shots are legal shots, but you can never use the 8-ball as the first contacted ball. In other words, you can use the 8-ball in combination with another object ball to pocket an object ball, as long as you don’t strike the 8-ball first.
Do you have to hit your own ball first in 8 ball?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
Can you use opponent’s ball in pool?
Yes, when your cue ball make contact with your own object ball, it can make contact with opponent object ball. … For 9-ball, as long as the lowest numbered ball is contacted first and any object that is potted by chance will be deemed legal shot and you can continue to pot the next object ball.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit any balls?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?
8-ball rules require that once a group is assigned to a player — by legally pocketing a ball after the break (in most rule sets) — then hitting any other ball first except your assigned group is a foul. This includes the 8-ball.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Is it illegal to jump a ball in pool?
3.27 JUMP SHOTS Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Do you lose if you hit the cue ball in after the 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
What does behind the eight ball mean?
In trouble or an awkward position, out of luck, as in His check bounced, leaving Jim behind the eight ball with his landlord. The term comes from pocket billiards or pool, where in certain games if the number eight ball is between the “cue ball” and “object ball” the player cannot make a straight shot. [ Colloquial; c.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?
The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.