- What happens if you scratch on the 8 ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Can you combo off an opponent’s ball?
- Do pool balls get old?
- Is hitting the 8 ball first a scratch?
- Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- Can you hit 8 ball off opponents ball?
- When you scratch in pool where do you put the ball?
- Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?
- How can I win 8 ball pool?
What happens if you scratch on the 8 ball?
In 8-ball, if you’re trying to pocket the 8 ball, it’s loss of game.
If you pocket an object ball and scratch, you lose your turn but the object ball you pocketed stays in, so scratching becomes part of the game strategy since usually a pocketed object ball is worth loss of turn..
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
Can you combo off an opponent’s ball?
Yes, you can use your opponent’s ball as the middle ball of a three ball combo. … The only call the shooter must make is which ball will be pocketed in which pocket, and if the table was open the pocketed ball becomes the first of the shooter’s category.
Do pool balls get old?
The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
Is hitting the 8 ball first a scratch?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Can you hit 8 ball off opponents ball?
After legal contact between cue ball and a legal object ball, your opponents balls are free to be hit, caromed off of, or pocketed, and there is never a foul. … If you hit their balls and don’t pocket the 8 your opponent will have ball in hand, but if you pocket the 8 your opponent will win.
When you scratch in pool where do you put the ball?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
Currently voted the best answer. I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot). 2)The cue ball strikes one of your opponent’s balls first. 3)The cue ball does not strike a rail or a legal ball.
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?
Should a player fail to pocket his designated group ball, he shall lose his turn. 3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.
How can I win 8 ball pool?
To win, you must be the player to pocket either group first, and then legally pocket the 8-ball. Find the head spot. Look for a small dot or triangle in the lateral center of the felt, about a quarter of the way down the length of the table. This is where you will place the cue ball to begin the game.